Link

Read A Personal Perspective on Vinaya, the Rules for Bhikkhus and Bhikkhunis, * published online in appx. 2010 by Alliance for Bhikkhunis (AfB).

Excerpt:

Years ago, before I received ordination as a bhikkhuni, I would have heartily applauded the call often heard for relaxing of Vinaya rules, inventing a new paradigm, ridding ourselves of “anachronistic” rules, and drawing up new guidelines that free us to engage in activities that will help spread the Dhamma. Over the years, I underwent a transformed attitude as I learned what Vinaya rules do for those living the holy life and their supporters. I would like to relate some of the reasons for my change in attitude, based upon my personal experiences —

Click this link to read the entire article.

(Link updated August 18, 2014)

2 thoughts on “A Personal Perspective on Vinaya, the Rules for Bhikkhus and Bhikkhunis

  1. M.A.

    Dear Venerable Sister,

    This is indeed quite amazing! I believe that I read this article some years ago, and since then I’ve not been able to find it again, and today, by pure accident, I just stumbled upon it. But I am afraid that the link to the full version is broken. So is there any way you could direct me to the full version? Thank you very much Ayya!

    /Mikael

    Reply

Leave a Reply

